2015 -2017 Scholarship VP – Peggy Moreland

Congratulations to Our Scholarship Winners
by Peggy Moreland

Brent Davis Neal attends Stephen F. Austin University, Arthur Temple College of Forestry and Agriculture. He is pursuing a Bachelor of Forestry with emphasis in Wildlife Management and will graduate in May 2016. Brent’s hometown is New Caney. He would like to be a forester or wildlife biologist because of his interest in preservation of forests and their ecosystems. He is the recipient of the Ina Brundrett Scholarship for $3000.

Yvonne Salisbury Hokanson attends Texas Tech University. She is pursuing a Bachelor of Science in Horticulture and Turfgrass with special interest in plant and soil sciences. She will graduate in May 2016. Yvonne grew up in Amarillo, but is now living in Lampasas. After graduation she wants to manage a commercial orchard. Yvonne is the recipient of the Francis Ellis Scholarship for $2000.

Megan Hatcher attends Texas Tech University; she plans to graduate in May 2017 with a Bachelor of Landscape Architecture and a minor in Horticulture. Megan’s hometown is New Braunfels.  After graduation she plans to work with a licensed landscape architect, then in two years she can take the licensing exam and become a Licensed Landscape Architect herself. Megan is the recipient of the Lucy Hendy Scholarship for $1500.

Laramie Sheye Naumann attends Texas A&M University and is a senior pursing a Bachelor in Agricultural Science – Teaching Option. She will graduate in May 2016. After graduation, she plans to be an agricultural teacher or county agent. Laramie is from Brenham. As a Agriculture Science teacher, she hopes to teach the importance of agriculture, and hopes to influence students to be future leaders in the agriculture industry. Laramie is the recipient of the Bea Dooley Scholarship for $1000.

Congratulations!   We are proud of your accomplishments.

Congratulations to all our winners and may the applicants for the following semesters continue to apply to Texas Garden Clubs website,, for applications and send the applications to Peggy Moreland the VP Scholarships.

Texas Garden Clubs, Inc., gives annual scholarships to Texas resident students who are college-level juniors or above.  The applicant must have at least a 3.25 GPA and be majoring in a field of horticulture.  The fields of horticulture included are floriculture, landscape design, horticulture, botany, biology, plant pathology, forestry, agronomy, environmental concerns, city floriculture planning, land management and other allied subjects.  Remember!!  The application deadline is October 1 for a scholarship given the following spring/winter semester.

Grants were set up in honor of the following:  Nellie Day Trigg, Bess Buchanan, Florence H. Thomas, Mary Badham Kittel, Hazel Raske, Francis Ellis, and Ethel W. Spears.  These Scholarships are given on a rotating basis in their respective names.  These Scholarships continue to grow as the 315 member clubs give yearly to the Scholarship program thereby increasing the principle.

SCHOLARSHIP FORMS can be found on the FORMS page.

Peggy Moreland
7719 Gran Quivira
El Paso, TX  79904

Texas Garden Clubs, Inc Fall Convention 2016
Presented to the TGC membership by the Scholarship Committee this year.